Flamingo Boy by Michael Morpurgo


30% off
30% off

Format:Paperback / softback 288 pages Publisher:HarperCollins Publishers Imprint:HarperCollins Children's Books ISBN:9780008134655 Published:4 Oct 2018 Classifications:Interest age: from c 9 years, General fiction (Children's / Teenage) Readership:Children's (6-12) Weight:258g Dimensions:129 x 197 x 25 (mm) Pub. Country:United Kingdom For sale in: United Kingdom, Australia, Ireland, Germany, France, (See full list) Description A stunning new classic from master storyteller Michael Morpurgo for readers of 9+, in the vein of PRIVATE PEACEFUL and THE BUTTERFLY LION This is a landmark new novel from the nation's favourite storyteller, set in the unique landscape of the Camargue in the South of France during WW2. There, a young autistic boy lives on his parents' farm among the salt flats, and the flamingos that live there. There are lots of things he doesn't understand: but he does know how to heal animals. He loves routine, and music too: and every week he goes to market with his mother, to ride his special horse on the town carousel. But then the Germans come, with their guns, and take the town. A soldier shoots a flamingo from the sky, and it falls to earth terribly injured. And even worse is to come: the carousel is damaged, the horses broken. For this vulnerable boy, everything is falling apart. Only there's a kind sergeant among the Germans - a man with a young boy of his own at home, a man who trained as a carpenter. Between them, perhaps boy and man can mend what has been broken - and maybe even the whole town.


£4.89 
  • Delivery:  
  • Return Policy: All titles are non returnable unless defective, please contact us with any questions